A Small Happy Thing

You know how some days you are just lounging around at home and there isn’t really anything to do except stare out the window? And then something funny might happen, causing you to laugh uncontrollably and have tears begin to roll down your cheeks? In a world where stress levels are constantly rising, we all need a break every once in awhile…and usually the funniest or most exciting things come unplanned.

One example of an unexpected pick-me-up is a flash mob. Having recently begun to trend worldwide, these spontaneous, out of the ordinary acts of a group of random people are extremely entertaining. Catching you off guard and well…confusing you, flash mobs make all the stresses in your life suddenly disappear. Who knows…you might even feel the urge to step out of your comfort zone and join in!

On another note, I remember that while at work one day, a day when there were what seemed like a million things to do piled up on my desk, I just could not motivate myself to get anything done – anxiety and stress had built up to the point where it mentally blocked any sort of thought process. Did I have time to go outside for a walk? No, the schedule was too tight…I did not really have much choice so I thought going to grab some coffee might do me well. Unfortunately, when I did, it made me think about the additional calories that I was going to intake, of course causing my anxiety level to increase…probably not the best way to go…

Trying to think of ways to refresh my mind, I stared out through the window aimlessly and saw a cat rolling around in the grass. I did not know what it was about its actions that amazed me, but one thing I do know is that it was amusing to watch it simply rub something off of its back. This got me thinking about silly things animals do out of pure curiosity; whether it is an animal instinct to nab at food or tear apart a cardboard box, these little things can erase the stress lines on my forehead and cleanse my mind.

Take a look at this video – it features a cat whose curiosity in a cardboard box makes you want to smile.

 

Am I suggesting that we all just sit around and wait for things to happen? No, of course not. Continue to go about your days as you normally would, but remember to be observant! You never know when something out of the ordinary might brighten up your day.

Written by Venisse Wu.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • jenn  On August 21, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    Venisse, I’m a little disappointed that you didn’t include anything about puppies in your discussion of cute animals..but I’ll forgive you

Leave a Reply

